Jun 18, 2024  
2017-2018 Catalog 
    
2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED PUBLICATION] Use the dropdown above to select the current catalog.

Academic Calendar 2017-2018


Fall 2017  
Date Event
Aug. 23, Wednesday Residence halls open for new students; orientation begins.
Aug. 27, Sunday Residence halls open for returning students; first meal – brunch.
Aug. 29, Tuesday First day of fall semester classes; Convocation 11 a.m.
Sept. 4, Monday Labor Day – most offices closed, classes in session
Sept. 11, Monday Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Sept. 29, Friday Last day to drop first half semester courses; Last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Oct. 13, Friday Fall break begins after last class; first half semester courses end.
Oct. 18, Wednesday Fall break ends 8 a.m.; second half semester courses begin.
Oct. 19, Thursday Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5 p.m.).
Oct. 31, Tuesday Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5 p.m.).
Nov. 14-17, Tuesday-Friday Pre-registration for Spring 2018.
Nov. 17, Friday Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W.” Last day to drop second half semester courses; Last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.).
Nov. 22, Wednesday Thanksgiving recess begins after last class.
Nov. 27, Monday Thanksgiving recess ends 8 a.m.
Dec. 8, Friday Last day of HMC, CMC, and Pitzer classes (Pomona and Scripps classes end Dec. 7).
Dec. 11, Monday Final examinations begin.
Dec. 15, Friday Final examinations end; last meal – lunch.
Dec. 16, Saturday Residence halls close 8 a.m.
Dec. 21, Thursday Grades due to registrar by noon.
Jan. 3, Wednesday Fall grades viewable on the portal.

 

Spring 2018  
Date Event
Jan. 14, Sunday Residence halls open 8 a.m. for all students.
Jan. 15, Monday Martin Luther King Day, most offices closed; first meal – brunch.
Jan. 16, Tuesday First day of spring semester classes.
Jan. 29, Monday Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Feb. 16, Friday Last day to drop first half semester courses; Last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
March 2, Friday First half semester courses end.
March 5, Monday Second half semester courses begin.
March 8, Thursday Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
March 9, Friday Spring break begins after last class.
March 19, Monday Spring break ends 8 a.m.
March 23, Friday Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5 p.m.).
March 30, Friday Cesar Chavez Day, offices closed; no classes.
April 13, Friday Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W.” Last day to drop second half semester courses; Last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.).
April 17-19, Tuesday-Thursday Pre-registration for Fall 2018.
April 27, Friday Last day of HMC classes (CMC, Pomona, Pitzer, and Scripps classes end May 3).
April 30-May 2, Monday-Wednesday Presentation Days; no HMC classes.
May 3-4, Thursday-Friday Final exams for seniors; reading days for other students.
May 7, Monday Senior grades due to registrar (by 9 a.m.).
May 7-11, Monday-Friday Final examinations.
May 13, Sunday Commencement at 1:30 p.m.; last meal – brunch.
May 14, Monday Residence halls close 8 a.m.
May 17, Thursday All other grades due to registrar by noon.
May 22, Tuesday Spring grades viewable on the portal.