Nov 14, 2019  
2018-2019 Student Handbook 
    
2018-2019 Student Handbook [ARCHIVED PUBLICATION] Use the dropdown above to select the current catalog.

Harvey Mudd College Academic Calendar 2018-2019


 

Fall 2018

Aug. 29 Wed Residence halls open for new students; Orientation begins
Sept. 2 Sun Residence halls open for returning students; first meal, brunch
Sept. 3 Mon
Labor Day–most offices closed
Sept. 4 Tues  First day of Fall semester; Convocation at 11:00 a.m.
Sept. 17 Mon Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Oct. 5 Fri Last day to drop first half semester courses; last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Oct. 19 Fri Fall break begins after last class; first half semester courses end
Oct. 24 Wed Fall break ends at 8 a.m.; second half semester courses begin
Oct. 25 Thurs Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Nov. 6 Tues Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Nov. 13-16 Tues-Fri Pre-registration for spring 2019
Nov. 20 Tues Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Nov. 26 Mon Thanksgiving recess ends at 8:00 a.m.
Nov. 27 Tues Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W”; last day to drop second half semester courses; last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Dec. 14 Fri Last day of HMC, CMC and Pitzer classes (Pomona and Scripps classes end Dec. 12)
Dec. 17 Mon Final examinations begin
Dec. 21 Fri Final examinations end; last meal, lunch
Dec. 22 Sat Residence halls close 8 a.m.
Dec. 27 Thurs Grades due to registrar by noon
Jan. 4 Fri Fall grades viewable on the portal

Spring 2019

Jan. 20 Sun Residence halls open at 8 a.m. for all students
Jan. 21 Mon Martin Luther King Jr. Day, most offices closed; first meal, brunch
Jan. 22 Tues First day of spring semester classes
Feb. 4 Mon Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Feb. 22 Fri Last day to drop first half semester courses; last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Mar. 8 Fri First half semester courses end
Mar. 11 Mon Second half semester courses begin
Mar. 14 Thurs Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Mar. 15 Fri Spring break begins after last class
Mar. 25 Mon Spring break ends 8 a.m.
Mar. 29 Fri Cesar Chavez Day, offices closed, no classes
April 1 Fri Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
April 19 Fri Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W”; last day to drop second half semester courses; last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
April 23-25 Tues-Thurs Pre-registration for fall 2019
May 3 Fri Last day of HMC classes (CMC, Pomona, Pitzer and Scripps classes end May 3)
May 6-8 Mon-Wed Presentation days; no HMC classes
May 9-10 Thurs-Fri Final exams for seniors; reading days for other students
May 13 Mon Senior grades due to registrar (by 9 a.m.)
May 13-17 Mon-Fri Final examinations
May 19 Sun Commencement at 1:30 p.m.; last meal, brunch
May 20 Mon Residence halls close 8 a.m.
May 23 Thurs All other grades due to registrar by noon
May 28 Tues Spring grades viewable on the portal