Oct 17, 2019  
2019-2020 Catalog 
    
2019-2020 Catalog

Academic Calendar 2019-2020


Fall 2019  
Date Event
Aug. 28, Wednesday Residence halls open for new students; orientation begins.
Sept. 1, Sunday Residence halls open for returning students; first meal – brunch.
Sept. 2, Monday Labor Day – most offices closed
Sept. 3, Tuesday First day of Fall semester classes; Convocation 11:00 a.m.
Sept. 16, Monday Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.)
Oct. 4, Friday Last day to drop first half semester courses; Last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.)
Oct. 18, Friday Fall break begins after last class; first half semester courses end.
Oct. 23, Wednesday Fall break ends 8:00 a.m.; second half semester courses begin.
Oct. 24, Thursday Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.).
Nov. 5, Tuesday Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.).
Nov. 19-22, Tuesday-Friday Pre-registration for Spring 2020.
Nov. 22, Friday Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W.” Last day to drop second half semester courses; last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.).
Nov. 26, Tuesday Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Dec. 2, Monday Thanksgiving recess ends 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 13, Friday Last day of HMC, CMC, and Pitzer classes (Pomona and Scripps classes end Dec. 11).
Dec. 16, Monday Final examinations begin.
Dec. 20, Friday Final examinations end; last meal – lunch.
Dec. 21, Saturday Residence halls close 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 26, Thursday Grades due to registrar by noon.
Jan. 6, Monday Fall grades viewable on the portal.

 

Spring 2020  
Date Event
Jan. 19, Sunday Residence halls open 8:00 a.m. for all students.
Jan. 20, Monday Martin Luther King Day, offices closed; first meal – brunch.
Jan. 21, Tuesday First day of spring semester classes.
Feb. 3, Monday Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.)
Feb. 21, Friday Last day to drop first half semester courses; Last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.)
March 6, Friday First half semester courses end.
March 9, Monday Second half semester courses begin.
March 12, Thursday Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.)
March 13, Friday Spring break begins after last class.
March 23, Monday Spring break ends 8:00 a.m.
March 27, Friday Cesar Chavez Day, offices closed; no classes.
March 30, Monday Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.).
April 17, Friday Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W.” Last day to drop second half semester courses; last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.).
April 21-23, Tuesday-Thursday Pre-registration for Fall 2020.
May 1, Friday Last day of HMC classes (CMC, Pomona, Pitzer, and Scripps classes end May 6).
May 4-6, Monday-Wednesday Presentation Days; no HMC classes.
May 7-8, Thursday-Friday Final exams for seniors; reading days for other students.
May 11, Monday Senior grades due to registrar (by 9:00 a.m.).
May 11-15, Monday-Friday Final examinations.
May 17, Sunday Commencement at 1:30 p.m.; last meal – brunch.
May 18, Monday Residence halls close 8:00 a.m.
May 21, Thursday All other grades due to registrar by noon.
May 26, Tuesday Spring grades viewable on the portal.