Jul 15, 2024  
2016-2017 Student Handbook 
    
2016-2017 Student Handbook [ARCHIVED PUBLICATION] Use the dropdown above to select the current catalog.

Harvey Mudd College Academic Calendar 2016-2017


 

Fall 2016

Aug. 24 Wed Residence halls open for new students; Orientation begins
Aug. 28 Sun Residence halls open for returning students; first meal, brunch
Aug. 30 Tues First day of fall semester classes; Convocation 11 a.m.
Sept. 5 Mon Labor Day–most offices closed, classes in session
Sept. 12 Mon Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Sept. 30 Fri Last day to drop first half semester courses; last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Oct. 14 Fri Fall break begins after last class; first half semester courses end
Oct. 19 Wed Fall break ends at 8 a.m.; second half semester courses begin
Oct. 20 Thurs Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Nov. 2 Wed Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Nov. 15-18 Tues-Fri Pre-registration for spring 2017
Nov. 18 Fri Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W”; last day to drop second half semester courses; last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Nov. 23 Wed Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Nov. 28 Mon Thanksgiving recess ends 8 a.m.
Dec. 9 Fri Last day of HMC, CMC and Pitzer classes
Pomona and Scripps classes end Dec. 7)
Dec. 12 Mon Final examinations begin
Dec. 16 Fri Final examinations end; last meal, lunch
Dec. 17 Sat Residence halls close 8 a.m.
Dec. 29 Thurs Grades due to registrar by noon
Jan. 2 Mon Fall grades viewable on the portal

Spring 2017

Jan. 15 Sun Residence halls open at 8 a.m. for all students
Jan. 16 Mon Martin Luther King Jr. Day, most offices closed; first meal, brunch
Jan. 17 Tues First day of spring semester classes
Jan. 30 Mon Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Feb. 17 Fri Last day to drop first half semester courses; last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
Mar. 3 Fri First half semester courses end
Mar. 6 Mon Second half semester courses begin
Mar. 9 Thurs Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Mar. 10 Fri Spring break begins after last class
Mar. 20 Mon Spring break ends 8 a.m.
Mar. 27 Mon Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5 p.m.)
Mar. 31 Fri César Chávez Day, offices closed; no classes
April 14 Fri Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W”; last day to drop second half semester courses; last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5 p.m.)
April 18-20 Tues-Thurs Pre-registration for fall 2017
April 28 Fri Last day of HMC classes (CMC, Pomona, Pitzer and Scripps classes end May 3)
May 1-3 Mon-Wed Presentation days; no HMC classes
May 4-5 Thurs-Fri Final exams for seniors; reading days for other students
May 8 Mon Senior grades due to registrar (by 9 a.m.)
May 8-12 Mon-Fri Final examinations
May 14 Sun Commencement at 1:30 p.m.; last meal, brunch
May 15 Mon Residence halls close 8 a.m.
May 18 Thurs All other grades due to registrar by noon
May 24 Wed Spring grades viewable on the portal